I wish I could just erase my memories

I seriously did a google search on “memory erasing hypnosis” today.  I didn’t come across anything that sounded legit.  I did find references to the movie “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind” which is now on my list of movies to watch.  I wish I could erase Nick from my mind – every single memory.  I just want to forget.  I want to be able to see him and think “who is this slightly overweight, inappropriate, shallow guy?”  I don’t want to remember the good times and I don’t want to remember the bad times.  I want to wake up tomorrow and just be some single girl who never dated a meth addict that couldn’t or wouldn’t love her back.

I do regret my past and wish to shut the door on it.  I didn’t learn anything I didn’t already know from this relationship.  I knew I didn’t like liars and that emotionally unavailable men were my  downfall.  I knew I shouldn’t date men in early recovery and I shouldn’t stay after they relapse.  I knew I shouldn’t let him move in under less than ideal circumstances and I knew I shouldn’t take him back after he told me he wasn’t ready for the level of commitment that he had already committed to.  I certainly knew to trust my gut rather than listen to my stupid heart.

They say not to let pain make you hate or the world make you cold.  I don’t want to hate or be cold which is why I just want to forget.  It is hard when every song I hear, every friend I have, and every show I watch triggers a memory I have of him.  Thoughts of him encompass me like surround sound and I can’t seem to shut him out.  I pray for God to remove my obsession and direct my thinking where He would have me be.  I guess I will just keep praying.  I hope you weren’t expecting a light hearted, uplifting post.  Maybe tomorrow?

 

Leave a comment